Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Killer Nashville Day One

Killer Nashville, a writer’s conference for mystery and suspense writers premiered this morning, Aug 20 and will continue through Sunday, Aug 22, 2010.

This is a wonderful opportunity to meet old friends, network, focus on writing craft and gain an understanding of the publishing business.

We started the day with entertaining discussion from Lee Lofland titled “CS . . . I don’t think so.”  He took a humorous approach to explaining how many of the techniques on CSI and other “reality” tv cop shows, were really just fantasy.

Sherrilyn Kenyon took the mike next.  She is a national bestselling author of paranormal romances.  Y’all already know what a fan I am of her work, particularly The Dark Hunter series.  Ms Kenyon was funny and personal.  She also has a powerful story to tell about her long career in publishing.

I had actually intended to take pictures but I was so distracted this morning.  I was informed at registration that I had been scheduled to pitch my novel, KAOS to two agents and an editor back to back, starting at 1210pm; ten minutes each.  And then goofy me left my hard copy of the prepared pitch sitting on my dining room table . . . over 200 miles away.  Needless to say, pictures were not high on my list of priorities.  Fortunately, I had an electronic copy on my laptop and was able to make notes from that.

I’ve got great news!  Both agents and the editor requested a partial submission of my manuscript!  All three of them had nothing but positive feedback.  I was on an adrenaline high for the rest of the afternoon.  I was physically present at two additional workshops but I was too wired to concentrate.  My apologies to the speakers.

I am now headed for a welcome party hosted by the Mystery Writers of America.

Then I’ve got a date with a blueberry mojito.

I’ll see y’all tomorrow.

2 comments on “Killer Nashville Day One

  1. Robin Hillyer Miles
    August 21, 2010

    Congrats on the requests!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2010 by in Conferences and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,617 hits
