Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Happy Thanksgiving

Most of the time, I keep a pretty optimistic mindset.  But every now and again, when I feel that I’m being pulled in a hundred different directions, e.g, parenting, work, writing, other family demands, friends, and so on,  it’s really tempting to fall into the trap of thinking how things are wrong or not going the way I planned.

At least weekly, I try to remind myself of how blessed I am.  But I particularly appreciate Thanksgiving Day (and the days off work) because it gives me even more of an opportunity to identify the factors that make waking up each day a blessing.

1.  I have a God who loves me.

2.  He wakes me up each day in good health and with a sound mind.

3.  I have a beautiful and healthy son who, most of the time, does not make me wish I had eaten him at birth.

4.  I was raised in a two parent home.  My parents have been married 48 years and are both in excellent health.   Remarkably, they still like each other.  No one has killed the other yet, even though I suspect that they think about it from time to time.

5.  I have seven wonderful nieces and nephews.  They are growing into incredible teens and adults and they are soooo cool.  I can always count on at least one of them to school me on the latest “thing”.  Keeps me young, right?  Oh yeah, my brother and sister, the parents of these marvelous wonders?  I love them dearly and am glad that they are mine.

6.  I am gainfully employed.  I am particularly thankful for this because at least daily, I hear about someone who has lost their job in these uncertain economic times.

7.  The last 10 years or so of my life has reacquainted me to a side of myself that I had not known since childhood.  I am creative and artistic.  My education and training as a social scientist did not encourage creativity and that part of me got buried under a pile of theorems and statistics.  But thank God I’ve been able to reconnect with myself.  The sense of anticipation and fulfillment that I get each day from writing and playing my guitar is indescribable.

8.  Thank you, Lord for the best friends in the world.  Your number is small but I wouldn’t trade any of you for a hundred acquaintances.  The love and support that I feel from you daily acts as wind against my back.  I wouldn’t be nearly as happy as I am today without you.

9.  Chuckie and Lillian, my four-legged children are 12 and 11, respectively.  I can’t imagine our family without them.

10.  Finally, I am thankful for the best blogosphere friends on the planet!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,396 hits
