Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Here’s To A Productive and Prosperous New Year!

2012 is right around the corner. . . and boy, I can’t wait!

I feel like I spent the bulk of 2011 stressed to the nth degree of stress-tivity and I’m ready for a break!

Okay, I exaggerate . . . somewhat.  But what’s done is done and I am eagerly anticipating the ups and downs of a new year.

I typically don’t set New Year’s Resolutions , mostly because my efforts to keep my resolutions never seem to make it past January.

However, the perfectionist in me thrives on lists and goals.  The hard part is articulating the goals, but once they’re identified, I get a kick out of ticking, one by one,  off my list.

So, in the spirit of long term productivity, here are my writing goals for 2012:

1. Publish the first of what I hope to be a series of novellas featuring my two favorite characters Louisa “Mama Lou” Metcalf and Ethel Mae Watkins.  Three of the short stories featuring these two amateur sleuths have been written and I’m in the process of revisions.  The character sketches for the cover are complete and we’re working on the cover now.  I hope to have the stories available through Amazon and Kindle by Spring 2012 at the latest.

2. Finish “KAOS“.  This novel is my baby and I’ve been nurturing this story for the past year and a half.  I’m experiencing more anxiety about this WIP than any of the others — not sure why.  But I refuse to allow my anxieties to derail this story any further.

3.  I have 2 ideas for what I think may be short stories.   I will develop them in the fall.

4.  Blog at least weekly; preferably twice a week.  For the month of January and perhaps through February, there will be a series of posts about mental health issues in fiction.  Hollywood and fiction writers are doing a better job at portraying some aspects of mental illness but a Dissociative Disorder (formerly known as Multiple Personality Disorder) is an entirely separate and different entity from Schizophrenia.

5.  And finally — this last goal is the foundation upon which the  success of the previous four rests:  Write Daily.   I won’t set a word count; I’ll let inspiration flow as it will.  But every day in the year 2012, I will find time to face the blank screen of my computer and write SOMETHING.

So, that’s it.  Short and sweet, but oh so satisfying if I am able to tell you on December 30 2012 that I met and exceeded each goal.

What about you?  Have you set any goals or made new resolutions for the coming year?

One comment on “Here’s To A Productive and Prosperous New Year!

  1. Pingback: 2013: My Year of Completion | Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2011 by in Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,961 hits
