Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Writing Prompt: Dialogue and Characterization

Using dialogue only, write a scene between two people having an argument.  Do not allow either character to mention directly what they’re arguing about.

“Hey, sweetie.”

“Hey.”

“Am I going to see you later?”

“Sure.”

“Well, when?  I was hoping we could check out that new movie.”

“Oh, yeah? What time does it start?”

“Around 7, I think.  Maybe 7:15.”

“I’m not going to be able to make it.”

“Well, that’s fine.  I think there’s another one at 8:30 and then at 10.  Which one works better for you?”

“Um, let’s play it by ear.  I’ll give you call later and let you know where I am.”

“What’s going on?”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean, what’s going on?  What do you have to do that so important?”

“I’m taking care of some business.”

“What kind of business?”

“Business.”

“But . . .”

“Listen, I said I’d call you later.”

“I know, I just thought it’d be nice if we spent the evening together.”

“And we will. Stop making such a big deal about it.”

“It is a big deal.  I’ve missed you.”

“I know.”

“I miss us.”

“Yeah, me too.”

Yeah?  Is that all you have to say?  Yeah?”

“Why you gotta make an argument out of everything?”

“That’s not fair.”

“Sure it is.  You want to see a movie.  I’m going to take you to a movie.  Now back up off me.”

“Now who’s making a big deal?”

“I’m out.”

“See?  There you go, run away. I know the back of your head better than I know your smile.”

“Let it go.”

“No, sweetie.  I can’t. I’ve let it go far too long as it is.”

“I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’ll call you in a few hours.”

“Running away is not going to bring her back.”

“What the fuck is your problem?”

You’re my fucking problem.  Look, I promised myself we wouldn’t do this tonight.  We can’t keep running around here like nothing happened.”

“Nah, we certainly can’t do that.  Not with you bringing it up every few minutes.”

“Sweetie, we’re not going to make it like this.  Now, more than ever, we need each other.  I need you, baby.  Let me in.  I miss her too.”

“Like you miss Steven?  No, I’m sorry.  That was wrong.  Um, look, I’ll call you and confirm about tonight, okay?”

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2012 by in Writing Craft and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 12,083 hits
