Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Mid-South Con

I attended the Mid-South Con this past weekend;  my first ever Sci-Fi convention but definitely not my last.  For any of you who  may have participated in any sci-fi event before, you can appreciate my feeling of not being in Kansas anymore; sci-fi writers and their fans are categorically different from romance and mystery writers.

They are tons more fun!

I don’t know if it was because I was able to chat up a couple storm troopers in the elevator or enjoy an afternoon snack with Lara Croft, tomb raider and Catwoman.  Or perhaps it was seeing members of the Starship Enterprise passing by me in the hall or posing for a pic with a vigilante who used Twinkies for bullets.  And don’t forget the pirates; lots of pirates.  I can’t remember ever hearing of any Guest Speaker at RWA or Thrillerfest showing up with a mohawk in red spandex tights and a blue cape.  Perhaps it was all of that, I just know there was never a dull moment the entire weekend.

The activities went on well into the wee hours of the morning.  It was great that this was a family oriented convention  (I had the devil of a time getting my son out of the gaming room) but there was plenty of trouble  fun for the grown folk to get into after midnight as well.

So, what was a mystery writer doing at a Sci-Fi convention?

I’m so glad you asked.  Aside from the fact that one of the organizers is a friend of mine (I won’t say there was exactly arm-twisting involved but. . . ) there was also an awesome genre-neutral Writer’s Track.  It included the usual: encounters/interactions with editors, publishers and agents but also workshops on writing craft, social media and networking.

Thanks, Mid-South Con for making this a weekend to remember.  I had a ball!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2012 by in Events and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,395 hits
