Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

Daily Prompt: Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding, belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

Crushes make me stupid.

There is no other way to say it.  I like to think of myself ordinarily as a fairly intelligent individual, or at the least, I fake it like an educated one; however, when hormones and pheromones get knotted up and twisted around in my nervous system then you might as well just call it Christmas.

Enter my latest infatuation.

It had nothing to do with his looks, although he was (is) undeniably gorgeous – six feet, solidly built, dreamy bedroom eyes . . . a killer smile.  No, he was . . . IS. . . . fine but I run across attractive gentlemen every day and they barely register.  But the thing is, and this may sound kinda weird, but I have a strongly developed sense of smell.  Before I saw his face or admired his form, I smelled him.

There was no aftershave or cologne, and now that I know him a bit better, I would even say, it probably wasn’t even his deodorant (he prefers un-scented).  No, I got caught up in the pure, earthy, sexy essence of the man.

(See?  Y’all are already thinking I’m stupid, but let me explain.)

We were introduced.  I extended my hand and as he squeezed mine in greeting, the wind current must’ve changed or something because that’s when I caught his scent.  My heart stopped then slammed into my chest, my face grew hot, butterflies took up the meringue in my belly and it seemed as if my tongue grew thicker and longer because at the moment when social etiquette demanded that I give my name, I could do nothing more than stare at him with, I swear, had to have been the goofiest smile ever.  After a moment, when I didn’t (couldn’t) respond, he released my hand and spoke to the other members of our party.

I would like to be able to tell you that I eventually calmed down but unfortunately, every time I ran into him over the next few weeks, either I lost complete ability to speak or I stuttered and tripped over my tongue so bad that he probably wanted to give me the name of a decent Speech Therapist.

So, did I ever regain my dignity?

Yes.  Well, sorta.  I tripped over my feet and twisted my ankle.  He was walking by and I got distracted, aight?  Anyway, he helped me to a chair, kneeled down before me, slipped my sandal off my feet and then caressed, err, examined my ankle for injury.  Once he seemed satisfied that there was no lasting damage, still holding my foot between his warm, big hands, he looked into my eyes and smiled.

5 comments on “Daily Prompt: Fight or Flight

  1. cshowers
    November 26, 2012

    I didn’t realize people still used the old “sprain your ankle” trick. LOL – I liked your post. It’s great when we’re able to laugh at ourselves. Many blessings to you, and I pray the man of your dreams sweeps you off your feet… uh, maybe I should pray that he doesn’t sweep you off your feet to avoid further injury. 🙂

    • Angelyn
      November 27, 2012

      😉 Thanks CSHOWERS! These days, I’m doing my level best to keep my feet solidly on the ground!

  2. ewurabasempe
    December 3, 2012

    Hi
    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.
    I like this post mainly because I too have that acute sense of smell which has been likened to that of a canine. I can tell most of my past lovers by their smell, be it cologne or that otherwise inexplicable smell. It gets confusing when I catch a whiff of a particular past lover, do a double-take because they are not supposed to be in the same space as me, only to discover that that familiar smell belongs to a perfect stranger. Thank you for sharing this unique nature.
    On the other hand,I cringed at the reference to the short, yellow bus. As an activist for special needs and differently-abled friends, I try to be sensitive to things that are said in jest that might be painful. The statement made me cringe because it implied that those who ride the short yellow bus are not intelligent and that when abled folks experience intense emotions/confusions/befuddlement, they automatically revert to being like a special needs individual.
    I am not sure how you will receive this comment. I just wanted to draw it to your attention. In any event, you write well and I will be back!
    K

    • Angelyn
      December 3, 2012

      K,
      Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I found my way to your blog after you posted about VONA. It’s interesting to me that we share not only that experience but also an overdeveloped sense of smell. 😉

      As for my insensitive comment about the short bus, I appreciate you calling my attention to it as I meant no disrespect. I know better than most the power of words, which both can uplift and destroy.

      Thanks again and I look forward to sharing community with you in the future.

      • ewurabasempe
        December 27, 2012

        Thanks for responding. I look forward to crossing paths someday. In the meanwhile, write on!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,617 hits
