Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

2013: My Year of Completion

Credit: davewalkercartoons.com

Happy New Year, all!

I am so thankful to say that 2012 is finally behind us and I’m excited about the promised adventures of 2013.

My pastor has declared 2013 as the year of living PURPOSELY.  His words rang through for me personally, as well as for the professional goals I hold as a writer.  I’m almost ashamed to admit the extent to which I’ve allowed procrastination (I’ve deliberately written this word in lowercase to signify its lack of power in the face of a PURPOSE-driven life) to gain a toehold over my daily functioning, like a tic buried between the shoulders of a hairy dog.

I reviewed the annual goals I’d set for 2012 and was a bit disappointed.  The year wasn’t a failure, it just didn’t quite move in the direction I’d planned; which, as it turns out, is not a bad thing.  I may not have been able to tick off all of the goals set, but in the interim, I accomplished so much more.  My identity as a writer is coalescing which I believe creates a stronger voice in my projects.  I took a few risks, opened myself up to new possibilities and new opportunities and boy, the blessings just flew.

I have historically NOT made New Year’s resolutions because all they accomplish is to make me feel like shit at the end of the year.  So this year, I’m going to return to that policy, with this one caveat:  I aspire to become a published writer.  I have 3 or 4 writing projects in the air, y’all and I’ve allowed procrastination to give me some serious arm muscles (it’s hard work keeping all that stuff in the air) but prevented me from finishing any of them.  My year will be purpose-ful.

2013: My year of completion.

8 comments on “2013: My Year of Completion

  1. Kim
    January 2, 2013

    Resolutions have a way of coming back & biting one in the butt! I rarely make them; in any event, they’re always the same ones if I do.
    Let’s see you finish a writing project or two this year! I haven’t even got ANY going on right now, so how’s that for sad? No, that’s not true. I do produce a small piece of writing every month for my writing group. Guess that counts somewhat.

    • Angelyn
      January 2, 2013

      Kim,
      Thanks for stopping by. The pieces you produce for your writing group counts ABSOLUTELY! Every word you produce takes you one step closer to your long term writing goals.

      I’m rooting for you, girl!

      • Kim
        January 5, 2013

        Aww, thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Inspiration: Power, Love and a Sound Mind | Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

  3. Misty Dietz
    January 22, 2013

    That cartoon is hilarious. You go, girl. Here’s to 2013 and accomplishing not just a laundry list of things, but rather, those things that have the deepest meaning for us. Purpose. I just love that word. 🙂

    • Angelyn
      January 23, 2013

      Thanks Misty! The “list” is already fading but my PURPOSE has not. God’s blessings on you too this year!

  4. Pingback: You want the world to accept you but you can’t even accept yourself. | Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

  5. Pingback: Hello 2014 – The Year of Favor | Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on January 2, 2013 by in Events and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,396 hits
