Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

My Inspiration: Power, Love and a Sound Mind

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

Today’s Daily Prompt is a timely reminder and just another boost/confirmation/acknowledgement from the universe that I am definitely on the right path in terms  of my freshly realized push towards completion.

I have the unfortunate tendency to allow daily life, work, family demands . . . the internet . . .  pretty much anything, to suck away my energy and creativity and to divert me from the things that feed my soul.   I recognize, in a purely intellectual kind of way, that procrastination, this avoidance rut I’ve fallen into, has its basis in fear.

Fear of success?

Fear of failure?

I’m really not sure but throughout the majority of 2012, it had a firm stranglehold.  Some time ago, daily meditation on this quote helped me get through  a very challenging work environment, without killing anyone or losing my sanity.  Today, this reminder reinforces the idea that I need to trust in my instincts, continue to believe in myself and give myself the freedom to make mistakes.

We fall, but we get up.  And in the process,  we grow.

2 Timothy 1:7For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love and of a sound mind.  KJV

6 comments on “My Inspiration: Power, Love and a Sound Mind

  1. seeker
    January 5, 2013

    I’m glad your quote is from the Bible. God bless you.

    • Angelyn
      January 6, 2013

      Thanks for stopping by, Seeker!

  2. Kim
    January 5, 2013

    I, too, was pleased to see your quote. Hard to believe sometimes I’m filled with anything but that spirit of fear.
    Interesting, that fear of success & its buddy, failure. I had a successful year in 2009, tons of stuff published (short articles, not novels!), prizes won, I was on a roll. Then…. nothing much since. Now I’m back to, “Oh, I’m not very good.”
    btw, thanks for your many Christmas blogs/music links!
    p.s. I am just reading Fire and Rain right now!

    • Angelyn
      January 6, 2013

      Kim,

      thank you for your kind words. Battling the spirit of fear takes daily commitment and I’m working on it.

      I hope you enjoy the start of “Fire and Ice”; it’s still a work in progress!

  3. Nicole Martin
    January 27, 2016

    I’m hearing you. I also have those tendencies. I sometimes need to take a complete break away to recoup my sanity! -but then I always find myself sucked back into the tunnel of discombobulation!! Good Luck, Cheers Nicole

  4. Angelyn
    January 27, 2016

    Thanks Nicole and good luck to you as well!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2013 by in Writing Prompts and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,605 hits
