Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Daily Prompt: I’m a believer – Shrek

Daily PromptWhat song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

This is an easy one:  “I’m a Believer” by Smash Mouth.  The one featured in the movie Shrek (2001), not necessarily the version done by The Monkeys.

My 11 year old son will tell you that he hears me singing, humming, drumming or dancing to this song at least once every day.

Seriously.  EVERY DAY.

Don’t ask me why but it has been in my head since 2001, when most of us fell in love with the stinky ogre.

But actually, I think the real reason this song has set up roots in my brain is that it is tied to so many wonderful memories.

My son was born that year.   The following year, when  I guess he would’ve been about 11 months old, two of my nieces (they would have been 6 and 12 respectively) visited us in Florida for the summer.  We had such a great time.  Those girls, (they’re young women now who would probably roll their eyes at me for recounting this story), hold the keys to my heart.

That year had been so stressful.  So many transitions.  Separation from family.  Having them there . . . stabilized me, for lack of a better word.  Coming home to the three of them was like entering an oasis in the middle of a storm.

Anyway, we went to a second run showing of “Shrek”.

Omigoodness!

My almost one-year old immediately was dubbed “Lord Farquaad”.  The whole household had memorized the soundtrack and anytime any of us started singing, our little “Lord Farquaad”, started bouncing and giggling wildly.  He could’ve been in the middle of a full-fledged rant and let someone start “On the Road Again” or the “Duloc” song, and tears immediately dried up and the dancing began.

That song is associated with love, good times and freedom from stress.

Hearing this song in what seems to be now permanent rotation is, I suppose, my sub-conscious attempts to remind me of those times.  When I’m tempted to get overwhelmed by burdens, my brain reminds me that it’s time to start . . .

BOUNCING!

5 comments on “Daily Prompt: I’m a believer – Shrek

  1. sula1968
    April 22, 2013

    Yikes 2001! I thought a month was a bad case

  2. Pingback: Ear Worm | Cheri Speak

  3. Pingback: My Brain – The Musical | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: Aural Sex! – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by in Writing Prompts and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,617 hits
