Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Never Let Me Go

This is the book I dream of writing one day.

Not necessarily the content, although to some extent, I suppose all writers explore the theme ‘what does it mean to be human?’, right?

And I’ve never really considered writing Sci-Fi . . . I just don’t think I have the creativity for it.  .  . nonetheless, when I grow up to be a real writer, this is the book I want to have written.

I want readers to be spellbound, mesmerized.  Long after you’ve put the book aside, I want it to haunt your day and night-time dreams.

I want you to put the phone on the charger in the other room and lock yourself in the bathroom, just to ensure you’re not interrupted.  I want to write a book, much like this one, that transports readers away to a strange alternate reality, to a place where you are engaged, enthralled, horrified, ashamed . . .

. . . renewed.

I want you to slow down in those final scenes, to savor the experience . . . try to make it last just a little while longer.  Then as you turn the final page, revel in your sadness that the journey is over but rejoice in that, at least for a little while, you were able to go along for the ride.

This was such an awesome book!  And if you’re curious, Kazuo Ishiguro also penned “The Remains of the Day”, among others.

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2013 by in What I'm Reading and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,396 hits
