Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Day 3: Illumination

Today’s word count: 1667

This was the final day of the Malice in Memphis Annual Writer’s Retreat at St Colomba’s retreat and conference center.  This has been an awesome weekend filled with fellowship, brainstorming, craft building and of course . . . writing words.

No deer sightings today but I watched a group of goofy campers in the woods.  Pitch black darkness, wood animals, thirty-five degree overnight temps . . . I just don’t get it.

I challenged myself to take the first couple paragraphs of my WIP and re-write them in another POV.  The text is presently written in the deep 3rd person and I attempted to re-write it in the first person.

I found this exercise to be . . . illuminating (aka Jonathan Rhys Meyers’ Dracula).

The story is told from the POV of my male cop protagonist.  I thought I’d done a fair job of giving voice to this character (in dialogue), until I tried to write in the first person, the narration was purely female, a girl trying to sound like a man.

Anyway, I’m glad that my sensitivities have been raised; at least I know what to look for during revisions.

Happy Writing!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2013 by in Events, Writing Craft and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,617 hits
