Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

Writing Inspiration: A Room Of Your Own

imagination

Writing is finally about one thing: going into a room alone and doing it. Putting words on paper that have never been there in quite that way before. -– William Goldman

One of the scariest parts about writing fiction? Being in a room alone with nothing more than you and a blank computer screen.

But first, you gotta get past the internal editor, the external critics, the tangential angst, the job, the kids . . . okay, you get the picture. Once you’re in the zone though, imagination flows and amazing things happen. It doesn’t matter if your words are grammatically correct or that you’ve got the right sentence or story structure (not at that point, anyway). What matters is that you have allowed your imagination take you on an incredible journey, and maybe even captured a glimpse into yourself. Whether you write literary fiction, fantasy, mystery, suspense, romance, horror . . . it doesn’t matter, genre is irrelevant. To paraphrase the opening to Star Trek, writing takes you “boldly where no man has gone before.”

That’s amazing!

Then . . . more angst.

I get messages in my inbox all the time with advice on writing:  how to write, what to write, when to write, how not to write, WHY AREN’T YOU WRITING?, who are you writing . . . and so on. And I read every single post, because I want to improve my craft, right?

But really, at those early stages . . . who needs the pressure?  When it’s just you and the blank screen, why limit the journey? Spending too much time focused on the end product stifles me, and frankly, takes the joy out of it. I’m so busy trying to write within certain parameters, that I lose . . . me.

So, I sit in my room, alone. I boot up the computer, shut out the internal editor, the external critics, the tangential angst, the job, the kids . . . Forget about grammar and structure . . .

And I write.

Because that’s what writers do.

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2016 by in Reflections, Writing Craft and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,396 hits
