Angelyn's Crimes of Passion

Mysteries, thrillls and chills . . . one story at a time.

NaNoWriMo Day 30 update

I realize I’m about 6 days late on this post, but hey, better late than never right?

For the first time in two years, I did not finish NaNo or accomplish my 50K word count goal.  I can’t say that I’m entirely upset about that because what I did manage to accomplish was more relevant to my current writing goals.  I managed to draft out two additional short stories in my MAMA LOU series and then finished a major re-write on a novella I started earlier this year.

My experiment with the contemporary romance never made it past Chapter 2.  It was a cool idea too.  Most of the romance novels you pick up these days feature alpha males, you know the type, dominant take-charge super-dudes.  Mind you, I love alpha males personally . . . since I tend to eat betas for breakfast.  But my story idea, FRIENDS LOVE BENEFITS, featured a beta male in the lead romantic role.  The female lead repeatedly wrapped herself up in alpha males who time and time again broke her heart; she never could see the love behind the eyes and heart of her best friend. At least, not until he started dating someone else.

Unfortunately for my beta, I’ve got murder and mayhem  on the brain right now and I never could get this story off the ground.  Perhaps once I get my current WIPs completed, I may be able to come back and develop this idea.

I love NaNoWriMo, I think I’ve said that before and I will no doubt sign up to participate in 2012.  Being a part of a community of like-minded people is so inspiring.  I met two new friendlies this year; one from way down under, the other on the West coast.  This month also helped me to identify ways of meeting my long term writing goals:

1. write daily

2.  set small, achievable writing goals

3. learn to finish

I really like that last one.  There are not many sweeter feelings than the satisfaction of writing “The End”

Happy Writing!

C'mon! I know you got something to say . . .

Information

This entry was posted on December 6, 2011 by in Events and tagged , , , .

Blog Stats

  • 11,396 hits
